While non-alcoholic beer contains alcohol, it is not considered an alcoholic beverage.
The federal government defines non-alcoholic beer as having a percentage of alcohol by volume (ABV) of 0.5% or lower.
This means that it has different rules and regulations than regular beer.
As a result, non-alcoholic beer should be consumed only in places where alcoholic beverages are not permitted.
In most states, you can buy hard seltzers using your EBT card.
However, there are some restrictions.
Hard seltzers are not allowed in Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, Kansas, Maryland, and Tennessee.
It is best to check the laws in each state before using your EBT card to purchase alcohol.
Hard seltzers are available in different flavors.
For example, Ranch Water is one of the trendiest drinks of 2021, and Topo Chico Lemonade is a fizzy drink that goes well in warm weather.
Hard Lemonade is another label that has entered the hard seltzer world.
It has four margarita-inspired flavors.
For those on food stamps, hard seltzers can be purchased at a local store.
Some of the local stores carry this delicious drink, but you can also order it online.
There are national retailers who carry the hard seltzers.
You can get it delivered to your home in as little as two hours with contactless delivery.
Hard seltzers aren’t regulated as an alcoholic beverage
The FDA and Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau regulate alcohol, wine, and beer.
Hard seltzers, which are considered malt beverages, must meet labeling rules similar to those of alcoholic beverages.
While there are some differences, these regulations are generally similar to those of beer.
Malt-based hard seltzers must follow federal beer labeling laws and sugar-based hard seltzers must adhere to additional FDA and TTB food labeling guidelines.
The FDA requires the disclosure of specific ingredients and scrutinizes the presence of certain additives.
The TTB does not require hard seltzers to display nutrition facts.
However, some manufacturers do, to encourage international interest.
Moreover, some products contain natural flavors or bubble-bursting fizz.
The US hard seltzer market has expanded significantly in the past two years.
As of April, one million households bought hard seltzers for the first time.
That is almost twice as many as in the preceding month.
But, while the US market is dominated by established beer brands, the UK market is still a major hurdle for newcomers.
While hard seltzers aren’t strictly regulated as alcoholic beverages, many of them have good health qualities.
Their low calorie and carbohydrate content, low alcohol content, and gluten-free ingredients make them appealing to health-conscious consumers.
Despite their many health benefits, hard seltzers do contain sugars.
It is important to note, however, that sugar is not created equal.
As such, it is important to research the ingredients of different brands.
Despite not being regulated as an alcoholic beverage, hard seltzers are wildly popular and are likely to grow in popularity in the coming years.
In the US alone, hard seltzer sales are forecast to grow from 0.8% share in 2017 to almost two percent by 2023.
However, the debate over regulating hard seltzers is far from over.
It isn’t clear if the beverage will become a legally-recognized drink in the near future.
In the meantime, brands are getting more creative with their nonalcoholic offerings.
The introduction of adaptogens into soft drinks may help consumers deal with stress.
Despite its fruity taste and claims of low-calorie and low-carb content, hard seltzers still fall under the gray area of Utah liquor laws.
The laws are often confusing and inconsistent, which can cause confusion for consumers.
While the Utah Beer Wholesalers Association represents the major brewers and distributors in Utah, hard seltzers aren’t legally regulated as alcoholic beverages.
The boozy nature of alcoholic beverages is the result of fermentation, in which yeast consumes sugars and converts them into alcohol.
The sugars used in winemaking come from harvested grapes. In contrast, hard seltzer uses sugar from the cane.
A few hard seltzers are also made with malted barley.
However, malt-based seltzers contain gluten.